Ballinrobe GAA Team 1979

This is the Ballinrobe team that won the 1979 Mayo Intermediate League & Championship double.

The top picture, where the team is wearing the blue and white colours of Ballinrobe CBS, was taken the day they beat Crossmolina in the championship final in McHale Park, Castlebar. As Crossmolina’s colours are maroon and white, a change of jersey was needed. I think Crossmolina wore green on that day, but I could be wrong.

The second picture, with the maroon and yellow jersey of the club, was taken in Claremorris. I think that was the day they beat Davitts in the league final, but I could be wrong about that.

Top picture: Front row (l to r): PJ O’Loughlin, Martin Murphy, Geoff Diskin, Denis Conroy, Tommy O’Malley, Billy Burke, Pat Fleming.

Back row (l to r): Michael Flannery, Tom Moran, Joe Heneghan, Peter Ford, Padraig Costello, Jimmy Maughan, Billy Diskin (RIP), Johnny Cosgrove.

The player looking down the field, between Padraig Costello and Jimmy Maughan, is almost certainly Enda Heneghan. Somebody was obviously messing with the scoreboard before the game!
Bottom picture:Front row (l to r): Cormac Gannon, Johnny Flannery, Joe Heneghan, Joe Loughrey, Enda Heneghan, Ray Moore;

Second row (l to r): Tommy O’Malley (who dug this photo out for us, November 2011), Denis Conroy, Martin Murphy, Geoff Diskin, Padraig Costello, Billy Burke, Pat Fleming, Johnny Cosgrove;

Third row (l to r): Michael Flannery, _____ (see below), Peter Ford, Kieran Cawley, Jimmy Maughan, Tom Moran, Padraig O’Malley, Billy Diskin, PJ O’Loughlin.
Not exactly sure who is second from left, back row. Is it Eugene O’Malley? Or Kieran Biggins, perhaps? My money is on Eugene O’Malley. Any thoughts, please leave a comment.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *